60 seconds with… Rebecca

Round two of our 60 seconds with a Spitalfields Music team member. This week Marketing & Box Office Assistant, Rebecca discusses new year’s resolutions, her love for Contemporary Finnish composers and European Metal bands!

What was the first CD/LP/Album you bought?
I think it was a Savage Garden cassette tape… (which I am ashamed to admit I still listen to…)

Who’s your favourite composer?
A very difficult question but either George Crumb, Einojuhani Rautavaara, Magnus Lindberg or Kimmo Hakola. I have a little bit of an obsession with contemporary Finnish composers but I also really love Early music especially when played on period instruments!

Favourite song/album?
The album I am listening to most at the moment is: Rautavaara: Garden of Spaces; Clarinet Concerto; Cantus Arcticus on ONDINE. I also have a bit of a penchant for the ‘heavy’ stuff and listen to a lot of European Metal bands like Opeth, Textures and I even throw in a bit of ‘progressive fusion Italian jazz metal’ like Ephel Duath

Favourite venue in London?
Probably Brixton Academy, for bands, because all the best tours end there! For classical, though, it’s the The Wigmore Hall. I really like the intimicy of the Wigmore Hall, and the fantastic acoustics – especially for chamber music.

Last concert/gig you went to?
Not counting any Spitalfields Music events, it would have been BBC Symphony Orchestra 80th birthday concert back in October. It was fantastic!

Red or white (wine)?
Both! (though not at the same time)

Any New Year’s resolutions?
To spend more time playing the Clarinet – I don’t get much time to play anymore since I moved in to my current flat. I need to try and find some decent rehearsal space!

What’s the best thing about working for Spitalfields Music?
Getting to hear a diverse range of music that I may not necessarily have heard otherwise, and meeting lots of great musicians!

Rebecca Steel
Marketing & Box Office Assistant

Leave a Reply

