60 seconds with… Ellie Folkes!

We decided to mix it up a bit and ask our set of quickfire questions to a Spitalfields Music team member. This week Programme Manager of Festivals , Ellie Folkes talks us through the excitement of buying a CD for the first time and why she doesn’t make New Years resolutions…

What was the first CD/LP/Album you bought?
Probably shouldn’t admit to this on the world wide web… My siblings and I made do with the good old ‘taping off the radio’ for most of our childhoods. I was in my early teens by the time we got a CD player in my house. When I got my first ‘Our Price’ voucher I was so drunk on excitement that I lost all my sensibilities and purchased… the Dawson’s Creek soundtrack. Yep, that’s right, and I aint gonna deny it.

Who’s your favourite composer?
Ooh impossible to answer. However, I’ve recently discovered Charlemagne Palestine though (what a character!), so I’m enthusiastically working my way through his back catalogue. I will always love Philip Glass for his Qatsi trilogy music – although I think that’s equally about the films as much as the music. I’m not just a minimalism fanatic though!

Favourite song/album?
Again, that’s too difficult to answer, but some albums that I seem to be listening to more than others at the moment are:

  • The Sixteen and Harry Christophers – Allegri Miserere, Palestrina Missa Papae Marcelli (They performed the Allegri alongside James MacMillan’s Miserere in Christ Church last Summer Festival. Just beautiful.)
  • Neil Young – Le Noise (His most recent offering – the man can’t put a foot wrong)
  • Mara Carlyle – The Lovely (I was mesmerized by her performance of Emily Hall’s Love Songs at our Winter Festival – I went out and bought this straight after)
  • Boris – Akuma no Uta (nothing like a bit of Japanese drone/noise-rock to  gradually get you going during these miserable slow January mornings)

Last concert/gig you went to?
I think the last concert would have been at our winter festival… before that, ATP in Minehead. I’ve been pretty disorganised lately.
Next concert; Gang of Four are supposedly playing at Rough Trade round the corner next Wednesday… so I might try my luck for a tight squeeze. After that, very much looking forward to Olly Coates’ Harmonic Series concert at the Southbank  Centre next Sunday evening.

What’s the naughtiest thing you did at school?
I was a very sensible, studious school girl. Although, when I was about ten years old I did pull down a classmate’s trousers in the middle of the playground… but I was no bully!

Red or white (wine)?
Ooh that’s a tricky one, but if I could only drink one for the rest of my life it would definitely be red.

Any New Year’s resolutions?
I don’t agree with New Year’s resolutions – why set yourself up for failure?

What’s the best thing about working for Spitalfields Music?
The people I get to work with, the local community and its histories, the close proximity to Montezuma’s chocolate shop…

Ellie Folkes
Programme Manager: Festivals

Leave a Reply

