In the House… with a violin

We have another track from our In the House project to share with you! For those of you unfamiliar with In the House, last year we invited student composers and instrumentalists from the Royal Academy of Music to create new music inspired by specific Georgian houses of Spitalfields, which would then be the venues for the performances, for an evening that was both a walking-tour and collection of mini-recitals.

Today we have Nikki Franklin’s Ru’ach Rafa’im written for and inspired by 19 Elder Street, a house that has stood in this area since around 1730. Performed by violinist Katie Littlemore, the piece hints at Spitalfields’s long past, particularly its prominence in London’s Jewish community.

Hear Ru’ach Rafa’im below along with Nikki Franklin’s programme note.

I can’t see you, but I know you are there.
I can’t feel you, but I know you are there.
I can’t touch you, can you touch me?
Can you hear me?
Can you hear me?
Can you hear me?

Hear more of the In the House works!

Leave a Reply

