Gettin’ to know you: Helen

In the hot-seat this time round is our Office Manager & Volunteer Co-ordinator Helen. Read on to find out what she gets up to when she’s not with our stewards or looking after the rest of the team!

What was the first recording you bought?
Let’s go to San Francisco by The Flowerpot Men

Do you have a favourite composer? If so, who?
Varies according to what I’m listening to – I have incredibly wide taste. When I was a baby my mum used to put me to sleep in the afternoons with Beethoven so I tend to be note perfect on a lot of his works without being able to name them.

What was the last concert/gig you went to?
My partner’s band, Pinhead Nation, celebrated the release of their album with their first gig for 17 years. It was in a workshed in the middle of a field in Wiltshire in January. There were stars, a bonfire, 30 people and a lot of red fairy lights. Amazing. I was really proud.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
A marine biologist or a pop star.

What were you doing before coming to work with Spitalfields Music?
Working in the Academic Publications Department at the London School of Economics.

What’s the nicest or weirdest gift you’ve been given?
A life-size rocking horse called George that my Dad made for my 5th Christmas present. He was built in the cellar, had plastic spoons for eyes, a Woolworths wig for his tail and they almost couldn’t get him up the cellar steps on Christmas morning. I spent most of my life until I was 13 riding him.

Who would you cast as yourself in a movie about your life? And why?
Paul Newman when he was 50 because I’d like to know what my life would have been like if I had been a handsome man.

Paul Newman, appearing in Helen Bailey: A Life Epic

What excites you most about working with Spitalfields Music?
The people. The staff team I work with never fail to amaze me – great care for each other, courage and seemingly unending enthusiasm and love for music and what we do. Also, the stewards I recruit and work with are a great source of happiness and interest! Incredibly generous people.

Who inspires you?
Anyone who manages to keep their artistic voice strong and pure through their life.

And finally, would you share an interesting fact about yourself with us?
I’m a poet.

Leave a Reply

