Intern Diaries: Bethan

I can hardly believe it has been almost three months since I joined the team as Marketing and Box Office Intern. It feels like yesterday I was walking into the office a bit nervous and wobbly-kneed to have my office induction with Office Manager Helen. Now I feel like a fully-fledged member of the team! With all the Summer Festival action over for another year and the office in reflecting mood after evaluating all the festival activity, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on what I’ve been up to, and share a few random highlights…

Spitalfields Music Balloons

Now that I try to write up everything I have done during my time as intern I realise I have actually been up to rather a lot! Writing copy for e-bulletins, designing programme books and e-flyers, working on reciprocal marketing relationships, distributing publicity, liaising with press and securing listings (in national papers!), updating the website and one of my favourite tasks, ordering 500 florescent Spitalfields Music branded balloons. A couple of these incidentally managed to cross the channel and end up on a beach in Holland!

Rather excitingly in the past week I have seen the brochure for the upcoming Winter Festival begin to take shape.  I’m afraid I can’t tell you any more though (other than it looks great of course) – you’ll have to wait and see!

The proximity of my desk to the biscuit supply is probably a good reason as to why many of my non-musical highlights of the internship are edible ones! I’m thinking in particular of fellow intern Alex’s moreish ‘blondies’ or cinnamon brownies and the afternoon milkshake rounds…

So at this stage after completing three months of the internship, I should be wrapping up with a final blog post before packing away my post-it notes and bidding goodbye to the rest of the team. However, the good news is my post-it notes and I will be sticking around for another month to man the fort with Michael whilst Rebecca is away on holiday. So there’ll be plenty more highlights to come for sure!

Click here for more info on our vacancy for the next Marketing and Box Office Intern

Bethan White
Marketing & Box Office Intern

Leave a Reply

