On the first day of the Winter Festival…

Spitalfields Music sent to me… exclusive pictures of Pawel Zemek Novak’s score for Ach Gott, erhör’ mein Seufzen being premiered tomorrow as part of the Orgelbüchlein at the Tower of London.

(Okay, so it’s not as catchy as the original.)

However, Pawel’s score is. It’s part of the Orgelbüchlein Project, curated by organist William Whitehead, to ‘complete’ JS Bach’s manual of chorale preludes, which tragically ends after only 46. In tomorrow night’s concert we have six brand new compositions as part of the collection (including Pawel’s), which will be heard for the very first time.

Orgel 1


If you want to hear and learn even more about the Orgelbüchlein Project, they have some recordings of other works from the collection available on their website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s