Gettin’ to know you: Alex

alex blog post We’d like to introduce you to our new Programmes Administrator Alex Groves!

Hi Alex, welcome to the team. So what was the first recording you ever bought?

I remember saving up for ages to buy some cassette tapes when I was younger – one of which was the early noughties classic ‘It Wasn’t Me’ by Shaggy…

Do you have a favourite composer/artist? If so, who?

I don’t think I could ever really pick out one person, but at the moment I can’t stop listening to James Blake, Steve Reich and Benjamin Britten.

What was the last concert/gig you went to?

I went to the Aurora Orchestra prom this summer, which was fantastic! A completely wacky programme of pieces by Frank Zappa and the biggest tam-tam I’ve ever seen.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I remember telling my parents at a very young age that I wanted to be a bin man, but I don’t think I had really considered the implications of such a career.

What were you doing before coming to work with Spitalfields Music?

I graduated a year ago and since then have been doing loads of different things. Most recently, I finished a couple of projects working as a composer with the National Theatre and the Royal Opera House/East London Dance.

What’s the nicest or weirdest gift you’ve been given?

The nicest gift I’ve been given is a set of cuff links with ABC inscribed on them as a thank you present from the directors of the first opera I ever conducted. The directors were Bex and Charlie, so together we were ABC.

Who would you cast as yourself in a movie about your life? And why?

I’d have to go for Joaquin Phoenix, because I reckon he could turn even the dullest moments into a completely compelling film.

What excites you most about working with Spitalfields Music?

I love the juxtaposition of old and new music, because it’s fascinating to hear the similarities that arise between styles that appear to be complete opposites at first. Also, I’m really interested in the wide variety of community projects that help to engage a much bigger proportion of the general public than straightforward classical concerts.

Where’s your favourite place in London?

I’ve just moved into central London so feel like I’m finding a new favourite every day, but I really like all the green space so it would have to be one of the parks on a sunny day.

And finally, would you share an interesting fact about yourself with us?

Back in my youth, I used to represent Great Britain for sailing.

 

Leave a Reply

