60 seconds with… Ashton

ashThree weeks ago Ashton joined the team as Marketing Apprentice. He’ll be with us for the next 12 months as part of the Tower Hamlets Cultural Apprenticeship Scheme delivered by Skillsmatch.

Hello Ashton! So, what was the first recording you bought?

The first recording that I ever bought was The Eminem LP. I believe it cost me £12.99.

Do you have a favourite composer/artist? If so, who?

My favourite musician is Carlos Santana, the greatest guitarist ever to walk the planet after Hendrix. My favourite composer is Clint Mansell; he did the soundtrack to Requiem for a Dream, as well as Smoking Aces. My favourite artist has to be my dad.

What was the last concert/gig you went to?

I went to a Chime for Change concert at Twickenham stadium where I was lucky enough to see Rita Ora, Jessie J, Selma Hayak, Jay-Z and Beyoncé.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

When I decide to grow up I’ll be a barrister.

What were you doing before coming to work with Spitalfields Music?

Before coming to work for Spitalfields Music I was a junior administrator at PTS consulting a firm that deals mainly in corporate relocations.

What’s the nicest or weirdest gift you’ve been given?

One Christmas I rushed downstairs to see an overly massive present with my name on it. Super excited, I tore off the wrapping paper like a vicious animal only to reveal a bright pink dolls house that my Nan had meant for my sister… pretty weird.

Who would you cast as yourself in a movie about your life? And why?

If there was a movie about my life I would want to cast pro-fighter Urijah Hall as myself. I have watched his career closely and we have a lot in common. I think it would be cool to have someone I can really relate to play me in a movie.

What excites you most about working with Spitalfields Music?

The most exciting thing about working with Spitalfields Music is the opportunity to meet artists and musicians. Being a budding guitarist, any networking I can do for either making music or just having a jam is good.

Where’s your favourite place in London?

My favourite place in London is the Isle of Dogs where I was born and bred.

And finally, would you share an interesting fact about yourself with us?

One interesting fact about me is that I have over 30 cousins on my father’s side of the family alone!

 

Leave a Reply

