Emily Hall’s festival picks

This Summer Festival is packed full of intriguing events. To help you navigate the programme, we’ve asked our Associate Artists to share what they’d like to come to (excluding their own events!).

First up is composer Emily Hall, who’s new opera Folie à Deux receives its London premiere on 6/7 June, alongside a weekend of curated events from guest performers.

The Sixteen: Poetry in music
Some of my favourite composers’ settings of poems I love so much I have set them myself (WH Auden & John Donne) sung by The Sixteen, wow.

If a tree falls in the forest…
Knowing the creative team of TROUPE I know this is bound to be a knock out. If I wasn’t caught up with Sound Among Sounds I’d certainly be taking my kids along to this.

Night at the Museum
I love the Geffrye Museum but I’ve never been to a gig there….

Bridie Jackson and the Arbour
I like this band very much.

Shabaka Hutchings
I had the pleasure of hearing Shabaka and The Comet is Coming at this years’ Borealis Festival in Bergen and he had the whole room on their feet dancing. I can’t wait to hear what he has got up to. And with Micachu DJing.

Weary, Guiltless Ghosts
Finally, as a wild card for me I think I’ll go for this – a capella Byrd, Taverner, Tallis in the iconic Tower of London.

As well as Emily’s top choices, there’s plenty more to discover in Spitalfields this summer

Come and hear Emily’s concert picks >>

Leave a Reply

