Intern Diaries: Marie

Our amazing Learning & Participation Intern, Marie, is coming to the end of her time at Spitalfields Music. After nine months as part of the team, we caught up with her to ask her about her time here.

 

Greetings, once again, from the intern desk. I’ve been at Spitalfields Music for nine months, and in that time, I’ve helped to deliver three unique festivals, assisted with four in-school song writing projects, had five personal mentoring sessions, taken the lead on three projects, and contributed to over 35 public events –  phew! This has truly been an internship like no other. As I look back on these eventful nine months, I look forward with similar fondness to what the future has in store.

When you last heard from me, I was gearing up to take part in Spitalfields Music’s Takeover Spring  Festival, and what a festival it was! Three intense days of music and art sprang from the minds of 7 and 8-year-olds in a creative explosion that the schools have never before experienced on such a grand scale. You can check out the festival days and the process behind it on the Takeover blog; my favourite bit was the ancient Norse Rune Trail at Stewart Headlam Primary School!

After Takeover, with two festivals down and the Summer Festival on the horizon, I was delighted to extend my internship through to the end of July. With this extension, I was offered a mentoring relationship with our Learning & Participation Programme Director, given the chance to lead one of our final Trainee Music Leader in-school projects, asked to bolster our Arts Award offer, and offered to design the Takeover exhibition that many of you may have seen at our Summer Festival (the exhibition featured a very colourful tree). With amazing support from the Spitalfields Music team and with these opportunities before me, I didn’t hesitate to dive right back into East London.

marie

Summer Festival Takover Exhibition: Marie at Shoreditch Church

As I look back on my internship experience, I find that I still remember the songs that Year 5 students at St Matthias School wrote in the first project that I participated in as an intern. I remember our Core Trainees and Trainee Music Leaders from their first sessions, and I’ve watched them learn and make music together and grow more confident in so many ways since then. I’ve proudly shared the innovative music of East London with all of my friends and family, and of course, I will not be able to hear the word ‘takeover’ ever again without thinking of children playing music in the halls of a school.

My mentorship and the projects that I’ve taken on most recently have been an incredible opportunity for me to really experience what my life will look like working in arts education in London. As I now look forward towards my dissertation on cross-arts educational programming (in which Takeover Spring Festival will feature prominently!) and to my looming hunt for full-time work in London, I feel confident drawing on the experience that I’ve had and the contacts that I’ve made as part of the Spitalfields Music family this year. With any luck, I’ll still be in London for this year’s Winter Festival, this time as an audience member.

Marie

We’re currently looking for two Learning & Participation Interns to begin in October 2015. More information about the placements, and to apply, take a look at our website.

Leave a Reply

