Intern Diaries: Harriet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Harriet joined us in October as our Marketing and Communications Intern, combining her work with part-time employment. Before she heads off in a few weeks, we asked her to tell us about her time at Spitalfields Music.

Making your first step into the arts world can be extremely daunting. Fresh back from my travels abroad and graduating from university, I found myself overwhelmed as to how best to find my footing. This internship was perfect, not only because it was in a department and organisation that I’m really interested in, but also because it gave me the skills and support to progress.

In this tightly-knit organisation, I’ve been given a high level of involvement and responsibility from the get-go, gaining experience in social media, box office, customer service, design,  communications… the list goes on.

Over these past four months, I’ve been given the encouragement to grow and develop in many areas, from improving my Adobe InDesign skills by creating booklets for festival programmes to answering Box Office calls during festival season to assisting in marketing analysis post-festival, able to tailor my internship to what I’m interested in.

David, Hannah and I had a lot to do in the marketing department during festival season, but this always kept things exciting and busy. I really enjoyed the festival experience, working full-time and getting to be very hands-on at events, mainly in the Box Office, and witnessing music I would never have seen otherwise. My favourite moment has to be seeing the cute little primary school kids boogying at Moon Man!

From my first day, everyone at Spitalfields Music has been so friendly and helpful. I’ve been given a real insight into everyone’s job roles which gives me a much better idea as to how the organisation runs as a whole. I’ve also had the chance to shadow other members of staff and learn more about other areas of the charity such as the Learning & Participation programme, by attending events such as Musical Rumpus and seeing first-hand the effect our work has on the general public. I would greatly recommend this internship to anyone wanting to gain experience and understanding of marketing in a small arts charity. It really was a rare experience that I will forever be grateful for!

Keep an eye on our website for opportunities to join our team in the future.

Leave a Reply

